Amlin Challenge Cup
Cheika outburst under the microscope
June 13, 2011
Cheika was angered by the performance of the referee during his side's dramatic Challenge Cup Final defeat to Harlequins © Getty Images
Stade Francais director of rugby Michael Cheika is facing a possible misconduct charge after complaints were made about his behaviour during this season's Amlin Challenge Cup Final.
Cheika was incensed by Irish referee George Clancy's handling of his side's dramatic 19-18 defeat to Harlequins at Cardiff City Stadium on May 20 and aired his feelings at the post-match press conference, commenting, "Once again we came undone due to the shortcomings of, you know. I don't think I should say it because I will only get in trouble."
But it is his actions at half-time and following the game that have been singled out by a subsequent investigation by the ERC Disciplinary Officer, Roger O'Connor, and as a result the Australian must appear before an independent panel, at a yet to be arranged date, to answer "a number of misconduct complaints."
According to a statement from ERC, the first allegation against Cheika is that, "during the half time interval and/or after the conclusion of the game, he made comments to and/or near the match officials that were insulting and/or offensive and/or disparaging and/or intimidatory, and/or that he conducted himself towards the match officials in a way that was insulting and/or offensive and/or disparaging and/or intimidatory."
The second allegation is that, he made comments to an ERC employee following the game that, "were insulting and/or offensive and/or disparaging and/or intimidatory."
Cheika's temper boiled over in the last minute of the game with Clancy ruling against them at a crucial attacking scrum. "It is not about what teams do on the field unfortunately," Cheika said at the time having confronted Clancy, along with his captain Sergio Parisse, following the final whistle. "At no stage during the game was any halfback told to take any ball out of the scrum except for the last one when it really counted,"
© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.
Communication error please reload the page.