Beginning in the 2005-06 season, the Anglo-Welsh Cup is contested by the 12 English Premiership sides and the four Welsh regions. Teams are divided into four pools, with one Welsh region per group, with the winners progressing to the semi-finals that are traditionally played on the same day in a double-header. Twickenham has played host to the final every year.

The tournament replaced the English Cup, but retained that competition's Powergen branding for its first season. The first tournament was won by London Wasps. Powergen were replaced as sponsors by EDF Energy for the following season's tournament.

Powergen Anglo-Welsh Cup

Year Scores
2006 London Wasps 26 - 10 Llanelli Scarlets

EDF Energy Anglo-Welsh Cup

Year Scores
2007 Leicester Tigers 41 - 35 Ospreys
2008 Ospreys 23 - 6 Leicester Tigers

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.