J.P Morgan Asset Management Sevens Series
London Welsh get Sevens nod
ESPN Staff
July 3, 2012

Live on ESPN

London Welsh coach Lyn Jones, chairman Bleddyn Phillips and captain Jon Mills, London Welsh v Cornish Pirates, RFU Championship final second leg, Kassam Stadium, Oxford, England, May 30, 2012
London Welsh will hope to add the J.P Morgan Sevens crown to their RFU Championship success © Getty Images
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Aviva Premiership

London Welsh will play in the 2012 J.P Morgan Asset Management Sevens Series replacing the Newcastle Falcons.

The Exiles were promoted to the Premiership last Friday with the Falcons relegated to the Championship after London Welsh successfully appealed the decision to block their entry to England's top-flight.

They will now kick-start their new season of Premiership rugby when they turn out in the second leg of the series which will be played at Sale's former ground Edgeley Park. They will get their first taste of Premiership opposition in the guise of Leicester Tigers, Northampton Saints and Sale Sharks when they travel north on July 20.

The news means that the Falcons will not have the chance to defend their title after they took last year's competition defeating Saracens in the final.

J.P. Morgan Asset Management 7s Series 2012:

Pool A: London - Friday, July 13, The Twickenham Stoop
Harlequins, London Irish, London Wasps, Saracens

Pool B: North - Friday, July 20, Edgeley Park
Leicester Tigers, London Welsh, Northampton Saints, Sale Sharks

Pool C: South West - Thursday, July 26, Kingsholm
Bath Rugby, Exeter Chiefs, Gloucester Rugby, Worcester Warriors

Series Final: Friday, August 3, The Recreation Ground

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.