Ireland v Argentina, Aviva Stadium, November 28
Duo return for Pumas showdown
ESPNscrum Staff
November 26, 2010
Ireland's Geordan Murphy is tackled by the New Zealand defence, New Zealand v Ireland, Yarrow Stadium, New Plymouth, New Zealand, June 12, 2010
Leicester's Geordan Murphy will be back in Ireland colours this weekend © Getty Images
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Argentina tour
Teams: Argentina | Ireland

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has recalled fullback Geordan Murphy and reinstated scrum-half Peter Stringer for Sunday's clash with Argentina at Lansdowne Road.

Leicester captain Murphy will start in the No.15 shirt after Rob Kearney sustained a knee injury in last weekend's 38-18 defeat by New Zealand. It will be Murphy's 69th Test appearance and his first since winning two caps as a substitute on the summer tour Down Under.

Stringer's recent revival has earns him a place in the team at the expense of misfiring scrum-half Eoin Reddan, who drops to the bench. Stringer, who will win his 95th cap, starts alongside fly-half Jonathan Sexton for the first time.

Knee injury victim Luke Fitzgerald has been replaced by Andrew Trimble on the left wing in the third and final change to the backs. Centres Brian O'Driscoll and Gordon D'Arcy and winger Tommy Bowe have all been cleared to play after picking up knocks against the All Blacks.

The only changes to the pack are in the from row where Sean Cronin and Peter Buckley have been drafted in. Hooker Cronin replaces Rory Best, who fractured his cheekbone last Saturday, while Buckley replaces Tom Court at tight-head prop. Buckley is back after incurring a hip injury in the autumn opener against South Africa, so Court drops to the bench. Once again there is no place for Mike Ross.

Argentina coach Santiago Phelan has made three changes to his side to following their narrow loss to France in Montpellier last weekend. Leicester Tigers wing Horacio Agulla starts in the back-three alongside club team-mate Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino and Stade Francais' Martin Rodriguez, while Biarritz's Marcelo Bosch is drafted in at inside-centre in place of Montpellier's Santiago Fernandez.

In the back-row, Julio Farias Cabello replaces Miguel de Achaval and will make his full debut after coming off the bench last weekend.

Ireland: G Murphy (Leicester); T Bowe (Ospreys), B O'Driscoll (Leinster, capt), G D'Arcy (Leinster), A Trimble (Ulster); J Sexton (Leinster), P Stringer (Munster); C Healy (Leinster), S Cronin (Connacht), T Buckley (Munster), D O'Callaghan (Munster), M O'Driscoll (Munster), S Ferris (Ulster), D Wallace (Munster), J Heaslip (Leinster).

Replacements: D Varley (Munster), T Court (Ulster), D Toner (Leinster), D Leamy (Munster), E Reddan (Leinster), R O'Gara (Munster), K Earls (Munster).

Argentina: M Rodriguez (Stade Francais); H Agulla (Leicester Tigers), G Tiesi (Stade Francais), M Bosch (Biarritz), L Gonzalez Amorosino (Leicester), F Contepomi (Toulon, capt), N Vergallo (Toulouse); R Roncero (Stade Francais), M Ledesma (Clermont Auvergne), M Scelzo (Clermont Auvergne), M Galarza (Leinster), P Albacete (Toulouse), G Fessia (Cordoba), J Farías Cabello (Tucuman), JM Fernandez Lobbe (Toulon)

Replacements: A Creevy (Clermont Auvergne), M Ayerza (Leicester), J Figallo (Montpellier), S Guzmán (Stade Francais), Á Galindo (Racing Metro), A Lalanne (London Irish), L Borges (Albi)

Referee: Mark Lawrence (NZ)

Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Stuart Terheege (England)
Television Match Official: Daniel Gillet (France)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.