Rugby World Cup 2011
Phelan changes four for Kiwi clash
ESPNscrum Staff
October 7, 2011
Argentina's Felipe Contepomi converts the only try of the game against Scotland at Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand, September 25, 2011
Argentina's Felipe Contepomi will break Hugo Porta's points record if he scores more than five points against New Zealand © Getty Images
Related Links
Players/Officials: Felipe Contepomi
Tournaments/Tours: Rugby World Cup
Teams: Argentina

Argentina coach Santiago Phelan has reverted largely back to the side which overcame Scotland ahead of their quarter-final clash with New Zealand this weekend.

The only change from the starting line-up from the 13-12 win over the Scots is that enforced by the tournament-ending knee injury to No. 8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, who is replaced at the back of the scrum by Leonardo Senatore. Senatore played in Argentina's last pool match against Georgia and there are four changes from that team. Prop Rodrigo Roncero, lock Manuel Carizza, winger Gonzalo Camacho and fullback Martin Rodriguez all return to the starting line-up.

The Pumas are captained by Felipe Contepomi, who needs just five points on Sunday to overtake Argentinian legend Hugo Porta as the country's all-time leading points scorer. Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, whose converted try help send Scotland out and effectively ensured Argentina's path to the knockout phase, returns to the replacements bench after starting at fullback in the disappointing 25-7 win over Georgia.

Argentina: M Rodríguez, G Camacho, M Bosch, F Contepomi (c), H Agulla, S Fernández, N Vergallo, R Roncero, M Ledesma Arocena, J Figallo, M Carizza, P Albacete, J F Cabello, J M Leguizamón, L Senatore

Replacements: A Creevy, M Scelzo, M Ayerza, A Campos, A Lalanne, L G Amorosino,. J J Imhoff

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - United States GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open