Argentina v France, Buenos Aires, June 26
Argentina and France target final flourish
June 24, 2010
Perpignan's Jerome Porical kicks a penalty, Bourgoin v Perpignan, Top 14, Grenoble, France, September 11, 2009
Perpignan's Jerome Porical will make his debut for France against Argentina in Buenos Aires © Getty Images
Related Links
Teams: Argentina | France

Argentina and France have opted for changes as they both target a return to winning ways in their clash in Buenos Aires.

France coach Marc Lievremont has opted for the most serious surgery as the Six Nations champions look to finish their Grand Slam season on a high note having suffered a mauling at the hands of South Africa in their last Test clash - although they claimed a hard-fought 37-14 win in their warm-up clash against an Argentina XV last weekend.

Fullback Clement Poitrenaud, centres David Marty and Maxime Mermoz, winger Aurelien Rougerie, lock Romain Millo-Chluski and prop Thomas Domingo all make way amongst the seven changes to the side crushed in Cape Town. Les Bleus' will also be without flanker Wenceslas Lauret who will miss the game due to a shoulder injury.

Florian Fritz and Lionel Mazars are retained in the centre for the Velez Sarsfield Stadium clash having impressed last time out. Elsewhere, Jerome Porical is set for his Test bow at No.15, Julien Mazlieu comes in on the wing and Pascal Pape packs down alongside Lionel Nallet in the second row. Fabien Barcella makes the grade at loosehead and Thierry Dusautoir will skipper the side - joining Louis Picamoles and Julien Bonnaire in the back row.

Argentina enter the clash having suffered back-to-back defeats to Scotland in the last fortnight and coach Santiago Phelan has responded by making three changes to his side. Flanker Alejandro Campos replaces Juan Manuel Leguizamon, who drops to the bench, while scrum-half Nicolas Vergallo and winger Rafael Carballo come in for Agustin Figuerola and Horacio Agulla respectively.

Argentina: Martín Rodríguez, Lucas González Amorosino, Gonzalo Tiesi, Santiago Fernández, Rafael Carballom, Felipe Contepomi, Nicolás Vergallo, Rodrigo Roncero, Mario Ledesma, Martín Scelzo, Manuel Carizza, Patricio Albacete, Genaro Fessia, Alejandro Campos, Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe

Replacements: Agustín Creevy, Marcos Ayerza, Juan Figallo, Mariano Galarza, Juan Manuel Leguizamón, Agustín Figuerola, Horacio Agulla

France: Jerome Porical, Vincent Clerc, Lionel Mazars, Florian Fritz, Julien Malzieu, Francois Trinh-Duc, Morgan Parra, Fabien Barcella, Dimitri Szarzewski, Nicolas Mas, Pascal Papé, Lionel Nallet, Thierry Dusautoir (captain), Louis Picamoles, Julien Bonnaire

Replacements: Guillem Guirado, Jean-Baptise Poux, Julien Pierre, Gregory Lamboley, Dimitri Yachvili, David Skrela, Aurélien Rougerie.

Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia)

Assistant referees: Dave Pearson (England), Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Television Match Official: TBC


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Singapore GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open