• British Championships

Dasaolu becomes second fastest Briton over 100m

ESPN staff
July 13, 2013
James Dasaolu is the second fastest Briton over 100m © PA Photos

James Dasaolu became the second fastest Briton in history on Saturday after clocking a time of 9.91 seconds in the semi-finals of the 100m at the British Championships.

Dasaolu, whose time broke the championship record, has only been bettered by the 9.87 seconds run by former Olympic champion Linford Christie in 1993.

The 25-year-old's time at Birmingham's Alexander Stadium is also the fourth fastest of 2013 - three-hundredths of a second quicker than anything six-time gold medallist Usain Bolt has managed this year.

Only Tyson Gay (9.75), Asafa Powell (9.88) and Justin Gatlin (9.89) have run a faster 100m this year.

"I knew I was going to run quick from the first step," Dasaolu, whose previous record was 10.03 seconds, said.

"Once you get to 60 or 70 metres, your body is running as quick as it can and it's all about relaxation. Because I was so far ahead it was much easier to relax."

Sub ten-second Britons

  • Linford Christie (9.87 seconds)
  • James Dasaolu (9.91 seconds)
  • Dwain Chambers (9.97 seconds)
  • Jason Gardener (9.98 seconds)

Dasaolu joins Christie, Dwain Chambers and Jason Gardener on the list of Britons who have broken the ten-second barrier.

"As a sprinter, you want to go underneath ten seconds and I'm happy to do that," added Dasaolu.

"Sub-ten is a big thing for me and I just hope to continue running sub-tens. I'm happy with 9.91 and I just want to build on that."

Dasaolu, however, withdrew from the final after experiencing cramp following his win with the World Championships in Moscow on his mind.

"My ultimate aim is to be fit for Moscow and I don't want to risk an injury competing in the final," he explained.

Chambers, Dai Greene, Rhys Williams, Asha Philip, Tiffany Porter and Christine Ohuruogu qualified for the World Championships.

In Dasalou's absence, 35-year-old Chambers collected his seventh British title to secure his place in the British team for Moscow with a time of 10.04 seconds.

As a reigning world champion, Greene is already qualified, but still won the men's 400m hurdles in 48.66 seconds. Greene's automatic entry means Williams personal best of 48.85 seconds to finish second has also earned a place.

Meanwhile, 2008 Olympic champion Ohuruogu comfortably won the women's 400m with a time of 50.98k while a personal best of 11.20 seconds saw teenager Philip become women's 100m British Champion and Porter won the women's 100m hurdles.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd