• Athletics news

Ennis-Hill included in World Championships squad

ESPN staff
July 16, 2013
Jessica Ennis-Hill has not competed this season because of injury © Getty Images

Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis-Hill has been included in the 60-strong Great Britain squad for August's World Championships in Moscow despite having not competed all season due to injury.

The 27-year-old missed the recent British Championships in Birmingham and is continuing rehabilitation for an ankle problem.

James Dasaolu , who became the second fastest Britain in history on Saturday after clocking a time of 9.91 seconds in the 100m semi-finals at the Alexander Stadium, is also included in the squad, along with 5,000m and 10,000m gold medallist Mo Farah.

Adam Gemili has been picked to represent Team GB in the 200m, but a selection for the men's long jump is due to be announced on July 30 due to Olympic champion Greg Rutherford's struggle with a hamstring injury.

"The team selected for GB and NI are a mix of defending champions, potential medallists, finalists and some really exciting young talents that we see as future medallists," Neil Black, UK Athletics performance director, said.

"Last weekend's British Championships was a brilliant stage for the world trials, and we saw some world-class performances. It gave the selectors a real opportunity to see the athletes in championship mode and we were not disappointed.

"A year on from the Games and it is great to look forward to Moscow with the selected team, as we take our first steps in the build-up towards Rio 2016 and London 2017."

However, one athlete to confirm her absence from the squad is 1500m runner Lisa Dobriskey. The 2009 World Championships silver medallist took to Twitter to state her season had been ended by a leg injury suffered in the British Trials.

Team GB squad

100m: Harry Aikines Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu 200m:James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Delano Williams 400m: Nigel Levine 800m: Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer 1500m: Chris O'Hare 5000m: Mo Farah 10,000m: Mo Farah 110m Hurdles: William Sharman 400mHurdles: Dai Greene, Sebastian Rodger, Rhys Williams 3000m Steeplechase: James Wilkinson Long Jump: TBA High Jump: Robbie Grabarz Pole Vault: Steve Lewis Discus Throw: Brett Morse Decathlon: Ashley Bryant 4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Chambers, Dasaolu, Ellington, Gemili, Richard Kilty, Andrew Robertso, Deji Tobais 4x400m: Michael Bingham, Jamie Bowie, Luke Lennon Ford, Levine, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams, Delano Williams

100m: Asha Philip 200m: Anyika Onuora, Jodie Williams 400m: Christine Ohuruogu 800m: Jessica Judd. Laura Muir, Marilyn Okoro 1500m: Hannah England, Laura Weightman 100m Hurdles: Tiffany Porter 400m Hurdles: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child, Perri Shakes Drayton 3000m Steeplechase: Eilish McColgan Long Jump: Shara Proctor, Lorraine Ugen Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis-Hill, Katarina Johnson-Thompson Marathon: Sonia Samuels, Susan Partridge 4x100m: Philip, Hayley Jones, Annabelle Lewis, Ashleigh Nelson, Bianca Williams, Dina Asher Smith, Williams 4x400m: Margaret Adeoye, Child, Shana Cox, Kirsten McAslan, Kelly Massey, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu, Onuora, Shakes Drayton

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd