Munster v Australia, Thomond Park, November 16
Deans tinkers with midweek Wallabies
ESPNscrum Staff
November 14, 2010
Australia prop Ben Daley is wrapped up, Australia v Ireland, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Australia, June 26, 2010
Ben Daley returns to the Australian front-row © Getty Images

Australia boss Robbie Deans has made four changes to his midweek side to face Munster at Thomond Park on Tuesday night.

After the Test side's demoralising loss to England at Twickenham, the Wallabies' dirt-trackers will be charged with backing up last week's win over Leicester in order to restore confidence in the squad prior to next weekend's showdown with Italy.

In the pack, Reds prop Ben Daley joins franchise team-mate Saia Faingaa in the front-row while Waratahs lock Dean Mumm replaces Van Humphries in the second-row.

Lachie Turner shifts to fullback in place of Peter Hynes, who drops to the bench, while Reds wing Luke Morahan is drafted into the back-three. Test halfbacks Luke Burgess and Berrick Barnes are again in action, with Barnes again taking the captain's armband.

Brumbies hooker Huia Edmonds misses out through injury, meaning that Waratahs No.2 Tatafu Polota-Nau will make his return to action on the bench.

"Munster have a history of taking international scalps; their combinations are more like international ones than provincial, and this is will be a great challenge for us," Deans said. "Following so close after the loss to England, it's really important that we get back on the front foot again.

"We saw in the first outing [against Leicester] that it was a tough encounter but the side nutted their way through and they'll be better off for it leading into this match. There are guys who will be aspiring to Test starts. This week combinations will hopefully be better again which will help individuals within the side, and this match is another great opportunity for them to stake their claim for the remaining two Tests of the tour."

Australia: L Turner (Waratahs), R Davies (Reds), P McCabe (Brumbies), A Faingaa (Reds), L Morahan (Reds), B Barnes (Waratahs, capt), L Burgess (Waratahs), B Daley (Reds), S Faingaa (Reds), S Ma'afu (Brumbies), D Mumm (Waratahs), R Simmons (Reds), S Higginbotham (Reds), M Hodgson (Western Force), R Brown (Western Force)

Replacements: T Polota-Nau (Waratahs), J Slipper (Reds), V Humphries (Reds), P McCutcheon (Waratahs), N Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), M Giteau (Brumbies), P Hynes (Reds)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.