South Africa v Australia, Tri-Nations, Bloemfontein
Wallabies draft in fresh faces
September 1, 2010
Wallabies hooker Stephen Moore looks to throw the ball, Wallabies training session, Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban, South Africa, September 1, 2010
Hooker Stephen Moore is set to win his 50th cap in Bloemfontein on Saturday © Getty Images

Australia coach Robbie Deans has made three changes to his side for their Tri-Nations clash with South Africa in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

Hooker Stephen Moore, lock Mark Chisholm and No.8 Ben McCalman all get the nod for the Nelson Mandela Plate decider at Vodacom Park at the expense of Saia Faingaa, Dean Mumm and Richard Brown.

Nathan Sharpe, an injury doubt after hurting his ankle during last week's 44-31 defeat by the Springboks in Pretoria, has been passed fit, but Scott Higginbotham is out - the Queensland flanker injured his back in the warm-up ahead of that match at Loftus Versfeld. Hooker Moore will win his 50th cap for Australia, along with winger Drew Mitchell.

"All three of the players coming into the pack will offer us energy," said Deans. "It's obviously a big night for Stephen, as well as for Drew, but Mark and Ben also have big opportunities ahead of them.

"Both Stephen and Mark have experience playing in games where the circumstances were not too dissimilar to what we will encounter on Saturday night. They know what to expect and - perhaps even more importantly - know what is required in order to be successful."

Chisholm will feature for the first time in this year's tournament after the last of his 51 internationals came against Ireland in June. Both Moore and McCalman were substitutes last weekend - the latter winning only his second cap.

"Ben did a great job coming off the bench for us last weekend and we are expecting more of the same, this time from the start," added Deans. "Not only does he bring physicality, he also offers us an additional line-out option due to his extensive background playing as a six or in the second row."

The Australians have not won a Test while playing at altitude in South Africa for almost 50 years - their last win came in 1963.

Australia: K Beale (NSW Waratahs); J O'Connor (Western Force), A Ashley-Cooper (Brumbies), M Giteau (Brumbies), D Mitchell (NSW Waratahs); Q Cooper (Queensland Reds), W Genia (Queensland Reds); B Robinson (NSW Waratahs), S Moore (Brumbies), S Ma'afu (Brumbies), M Chisholm (Brumbies), N Sharpe (Western Force), R Elsom (Brumbies) D Pocock (Western Force), B McCalman (Western Force).

Replacements: S Faingaa (Queensland Reds), J Slipper (Queensland Reds), D Mumm (NSW Waratahs), R Brown (Western Force), L Burgess (NSW Waratahs), B Barnes (NSW Waratahs), A Faingaa (Queensland Reds).


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.