Australian Rugby
Wallabies draft in Reds for training
ESPN Staff
July 22, 2012
The Reds' Radike Samo sprints clear to score, Reds v Western Force, Super Rugby, Lang Park, Brisbane, Australia, March 3, 2012
Radike Samo has been called up to the training squad © Getty Images
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Rugby Championship | Super Rugby

The Wallabies have called up eight Queensland Reds to join their training group in Sydney next week.

With the Reds now out of the Super Rugby picture following their 30-17 loss to the Sharks on Saturday, Robbie Deans has wasted no time in bringing in the Australians to his training squad ahead of the Rugby Championship. The eight players are: Quade Cooper, Liam Gill, James Hanson, Radike Samo, Jake Schatz, Rob Simmons, James Slipper and Ben Tapuai.

Players such as Will Genia are set to be named in the final squad for the Rugby Championship but the week in Sydney will give Deans the chance to run the rule over some of the players who may be lacking in match fitness or who have been on the verge of the squad in the past. There will be another training camp in early August in Sydney.

Australia training squad: Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels), Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs), Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs), Lachie Turner (NSW Waratahs), Nick Cummins (Western Force), Cooper Vuna (Melbourne Rebels), Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs), Mitch Inman (Melbourne Rebels), Pat McCabe (Brumbies), Ben Tapuai (Queensland Reds), Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs), Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs), Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds), Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), Nic White (Brumbies), Radike Samo (Queensland Reds), Ben Mowen (Brumbies), David Pocock (Western Force), Liam Gill (Queensland Reds), Michael Hooper (Brumbies), Jake Schatz (Queensland Reds), Dave Dennis (NSW Waratahs), Rob Simmons (Queensland Reds), Kane Douglas (NSW Waratahs), Cadeyrn Neville (Melbourne Rebels), Hugh Pyle (Melbourne Rebels), Sitaleki Timani (NSW Waratahs), Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs), Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs), James Slipper (Queensland Reds), Ben Alexander (Brumbies), Paddy Ryan (NSW Waratahs), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), James Hanson (Queensland Reds), Tatafu Polota-Nau (NSW Waratahs).

The players who were not considered because of injury are: Salesi Ma'afu (Western Force), Dan Palmer (Brumbies), James Horwill (Queensland Reds), Ben McCalman (Western Force), Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs), Christian Leali'ifano (Brumbies), James O'Connor (Melbourne Rebels), Joe Tomane (Brumbies).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.