Australia v New Zealand, Bledisloe Cup, October 20
Quartet boost wounded Wallabies
ESPN Staff
October 13, 2012
Wallabies' Wycliff Palu is back in training, Coogee Oval, Sydney, Australia, August 31, 2011
Wycliff Palu is back in training with the Wallabies © Getty Images

Australia boss Robbie Deans has recalled Wycliff Palu, Sekope Kepu, Drew Mitchell and Adam Ashley-Cooper from injury for their one-off Bledisloe Cup clash with New Zealand on October 20.

The Wallabies will be boosted by the experienced quartet as they attempt to derail the All Blacks' march to a world record run of Test victories in the coming months.

Having lost to Steve Hansen's side twice during their Rugby Championship victory, the Wallabies could use some cheer prior to rounding off a gruelling season with tour games against France, England, Italy and Wales.

Ashley-Cooper missed last weekend's victory over Argentina with concussion, while Mitchell has been absent since their opening Bledisloe Cup clash of the season due to an ankle problem.

Palu, the Waratahs No.8, has been troubled by a shoulder injury and last played for Australia in their June series against Wales. Kepu was ruled out in the early stages of the Rugby Championship with a knee issue picked up in training.

Australia will be without James Horwill, David Pocock, Will Genia, Quade Cooper and James O'Connor due to ongoing injury problems.


Forwards: W Palu (NSW Waratahs), R Samo (Queensland Reds), S Higginbotham (Queensland Reds), M Hooper (Brumbies), L Gill (Queensland Reds), D Dennis (NSW Waratahs), R Simmons (Queensland Reds), S Timani (NSW Waratahs), N Sharpe (Western Force, capt), K Douglas (NSW Waratahs), S Kepu (NSW Waratahs), P Ryan (NSW Waratahs), B Alexander (Brumbies), J Slipper (Queensland Reds), B Robinson (NSW Waratahs), J Hanson (Queensland Reds), S Fainga'a (Queensland Reds), T Polota Nau (NSW Waratahs)

Backs: M Harris (Queensland Reds), N Cummins (Western Force), D Mitchell (NSW Waratahs), D Shipperley (Queensland Reds), D Ioane (Queensland Reds), A Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs), B Tapuai (Queensland Reds), A Fainga'a (Queensland Reds), P McCabe (Brumbies), K Beale (Melbourne Rebels), N Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), B Sheehan (Western Force)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.