Combined Country XV v British & Irish Lions, Newcastle, June 11
Davidson to skipper Combined Country XV
ESPN Staff
June 10, 2013
Melbourne Rebels' Tim Davidson on the charge, Melbourne Rebels v Tonga, Latrobe City Sports and Entertainment Centre, Morwell, Australia, January 21, 2010
Rebels No.8 Tim Davidson will skipper the Combined Country side against the Lions in Newcastle on Tuesday night © Getty Images

Melbourne Rebels No.8 Tim Davidson will captain the Combined Country side that will tackle the British & Irish Lions at Hunter Stadium in Newcastle on Tuesday night.

Davidson is one of eight Super Rugby players in the starting XV alongside Brumbies hooker Josh Mann-Rae, Force lock Phoenix Battye, Reds lock Blake Enever, Reds flanker Jarrad Butler, Force scrum-half Michael Snowden, Rebels fly-half Angus Roberts and Brumbies winger Tom Cox. The team also includes local favourite Lewis Catt who plays for Newcastle Wanderers Rugby Club.

There have been two changes from the 23-man squad named last week with Reds flanker Beau Robinson ruled out following a head clash with Lions prop Mako Vunipola during last Saturday night's clash in Brisbane.

Robinson's Reds' team-mate Butler has been named at openside while Sydney Premier Rugby representative, Richard Stanford will run on at blindside. NSW Country representative, Ben Greentree has also been ruled out due to injury, replaced by Queensland Country Rugby player Shaun McCarthy. Queensland Country's Rory Arnold moves onto the bench to complete the 23-man squad.

The bench includes one other Super Rugby player in back-row forward Trent Dyer, five Qld Country players, and two NSW Country players, including Singleton local and Wanderers Rugby Club representative, Dylan Evans.

Combined Country: Nathan Trist; Alex Gibbon, Lewie Catt, Tareta-Junior Siakisini, Tom Cox; Angus Roberts, Michael Snowden; Haydn Hirsimaki; Josh Mann-Rae, Tim Metcher, Phoenix Battye, Blake Enever; Richard Stanford, Jarrad Butler; Tim Davidson (c)

Replacements: Tom Kearney, Dylan Evans, Rikki Abraham, Rory Arnold, Trent Dyer, Adam McCormack, Shaun McCarthy, Dale Ahwang

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.