James Slipper awarded top RUPA honour
ESPN Staff
December 10, 2014
James Slipper started each of the Wallabies' 14 Tests in 2014 © Getty Images

Wallabies prop James Slipper has taken out the Rugby Union Players' Association Medal for Excellence in Australian rugby.

Slipper was given the award - which combines on and off-field actions and is voted on by the players - on the back of a standout Test season where he established himself as one of the hardest working props in world rugby.

Slipper was one of the few automatic Wallabies selections in 2014, the Queenslander starting at loosehead in each of Australia's 14 Tests. Slipper had earlier this year finished behind just Israel Folau and Michael Hooper in the race for the John Eales Medal - Australian rugby's top honour.

Meanwhile, Matt Hodgson has capped a stellar year by taking out the RUPA People's Choice Award. Hodgson led Western Force to a franchise-record nine Super Rugby twins in 2014, his form enough to earn a Wallabies recall under both Ewen McKenzie and Michael Cheika.

There was further good news for Sean McMahon too, with the Melbourne Rebels and Wallabies backrower taking out the award for Newcomer of the Year. McMahon proved himself to be a key part of the Rebels pack after making his Super Rugby debut in round one, and then went on to captain the Australia Under 20s at the Junior World Championship. He then won a spot in Cheika's first Wallabies squad and, after impressing off the bench against the Barbarians, started the Tests against Wales, France and England.

In the other categories, Emilee Cherry was named Women's Sevens Player of the Year while Cameron Clark took out the gong for the men. Reds centre Samu Kerevi was named the National Rugby Championship's Players' Player.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.