Wales v Australia, Millennium Stadium, November 28
Improving Wales recall Peel
November 27, 2009
Wales centre Jonathan Davies steamrolls Agustin Figuerola, Wales v Argentina, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales, November 21, 2009
Jonathan Davies has retained his place in the centre © Getty Images

Wales coach Warren Gatland has recalled Sale scrum-half Dwayne Peel to the starting XV to face Australia at the Millennium Stadium Saturday.

Peel replaces Cardiff Blues scrum-half Gareth Cooper, who was released to represent his region against the Wallabies on Tuesday night. Peel partners his former Llanelli and Scarlets team-mate Stephen Jones at halfback and Jones will be keen for more of the same after a superb display against the Pumas. Scarlets youngster Jonathan Davies starts again in the No.12 jersey alongside Jamie Roberts, with Tom Shanklin not making the 22.

Shane Williams grabbed the headlines with a brace last weekend and is named in the back-three with James Hook and Leigh Halfpenny. Ryan Jones has been ruled out with a back injury meaning a move to the No.8 jersey for Andy Powell and a call-up to the starting line-up for Dan Lydiate.

Paul James and Matthew Rees continue in the front-row alongside skipper Gethin Jenkins, with the second-row of Luke Charteris and Alun-Wyn Jones remaining intact. Australia coach Robbie Deans has called Waratahs lock Dean Mumm in to the starting line-up. The Wallabies are in desperate need of a victory to salvage something from their tour after defeat to Scotland at Murrayfield last weekend.

Mumm replaces Mark Chisholm and partners James Horwill in the second-row with David Pocock slotting in to the back-row in place of George Smith, who drops to the bench. The final change comes in the centre as Digby Ioane returns from injury in place of Ryan Cross. Quade Cooper is named in the No.12 jersey despite playing 78 minutes in a victory over Cardiff Blues in midweek due to an unfortunate early injury to Brumbies youngster Matt Toomua.

Wales: James Hook (Ospreys); Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Shane Williams (Ospreys); Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Dwayne Peel (Sale Sharks); Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Paul James (Ospreys), Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Dragons), Dan Lydiate (Dragons), Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues), Andy Powell (Cardiff Blues)

Replacements: Huw Bennett (Ospreys), Duncan Jones (Ospreys), Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues), Martin Roberts (Scarlets), Andrew Bishop (Ospreys), Tom James (Cardiff Blues)

Australia: Adam Ashley-Cooper (Brumbies), Peter Hynes (Reds), Digby Ioane (Reds), Quade Cooper (Reds), Drew Mitchell (Waratahs); Matt Giteau (Brumbies), Will Genia(Reds); Benn Robinson (Waratahs), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Ben Alexander (Brumbies), James Horwill (Reds), Dean Mumm (Waratahs), Rocky Elsom (Brumbies, capt), David Pocock (Western Force), Wycliff Palu (Waratahs)

Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs), Matt Dunning (Waratahs), Mark Chisholm (Brumbies), George Smith (Brumbies), Luke Burgess (Waratahs), James O'Connor (Western Force), Kurtley Beale (Waratahs)


Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.

  • Football

  • Cricket

  • Rugby

    • Days
    • Hrs
    • Mins
    • Secs

    F1 - Belgian GP

  • OtherLive >>

    Snooker - China Open
    Tennis - Miami Open