• 2010 Season

Ex-champions to attend Bahrain GP

ESPNF1 Staff
January 13, 2010 « Bruno Senna could race at Toro Rosso | »
Nelson Piquet, Alain Prost and Nigel Mansell will be among champions attending the 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix © Sutton Images

All the living world champions will attend this year's season opener in Bahrain to mark Formula One's 60th anniversary.

Circuit boss Martin Whitaker said that all 20 living title-winners will be present, including famous names such as Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, Nelson Piquet, Emerson Fittipaldi and Jack Brabham.

"This will be a truly special occasion, especially for all those who love F1 and who have been following the sport for many years," Whitaker said.

Four world champions will race at the event with Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button all confirmed for next season. Kimi Raikkonen could also attend as the date, March 14, does not clash with his rallying schedule.

Up to 20 of the historic cars driven by the champions will be on display, in what Whitaker believes will be "something spectacular".