Barbarians v South Africa, Twickenham, December 4
Giteau to skipper Baa Baas
ESPNscrum Staff
November 30, 2010
Barbarians fly-half Matt Giteau, Barbarians v New Zealand, Twickenham, England, December 5, 2009
Matt Giteau will captain the Barbarians © Getty Images

Discarded Wallaby Matt Giteau will end his northern hemisphere tour on a high after being handed the captaincy of the Barbarians for Saturday's Twickenham showdown with South Africa.

The Brumbies playmaker, who lost his place in the Australia side to Berrick Barnes for recent Tests against Italy and France, starts at fly-half against the Springboks in what is his third Baa Baas appearance in the last four years.

"This is a great honour and I am deeply grateful to the Barbarians committee for the confidence thay have shown in me," Giteau said.

He is joined at halfback by Wallabies colleague Will Genia, while wing Drew Mitchell, centre Adam Ashley-Cooper, fullback James O'Connor and hooker Stephen Moore all bolster the Aussie ranks with starting roles.

Centre Ma'a Nonu leads a five-strong All Black contingent in the starting XV, with Joe Rokocoko starting out wide and Neemia Tialata, Chris Jack and Rodney So'oialo in the pack. On the bench, Keven Mealamu, Daniel Braid, Andy Ellis and Stephen Donald complete the Kiwi contingent.

Wales flanker Martyn Williams is back for more after representing the Baa Baas in their June meetings with England and Ireland and will be hoping for another big showing against the Springboks after scoring a solo try against them in black and white hoops during a 22-5 win in 2007.

His Cardiff Blues team-mate John Yapp takes a spot among the replacements while Italy's Salvatore Perugini starts at loose-head to complete the Six Nations representation. Chiefs No.8 Colin Bourke and Stormers lock Anton van Zyl are the uncapped players in the squad and both start.

Barbarians: J O'Connor (Aus); J Rococoko (NZ), A Ashley-Cooper (Aus), M Nonu (NZ), D Mitchell (Aus); M Giteau (Aus, capt), W Genia (Aus); S Perugini (Ita), S Moore (Aus), N Tialata (NZ), A van Zyl (Stormers), C Jack (NZ), R So'oialo (NZ), M Williams (Wales), C Bourke (Chiefs)

Replacements: K Mealamu (NZ), J Yapp (Wales), Q Geldenhuys (It), D Braid (NZ), A Ellis (NZ), S Donald (NZ), S Rabeni (Fij)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.