• Switch Edition
ESPN SCRUM / imported (unsorted) / News
Logan offered an international lifeline
January 22, 2003

London Wasps wing Kenny Logan has been handed the chance to reclaim a Scotland international jersey after being named in a 50-strong RBS Six Nations Championship training squad for senior and A teams.

The 30-year-old has not featured since the final Six Nations game last year at Wales which was his first start to a game for a year.

But Scotland coach Ian McGeechan has drafted Logan back into his squad ahead of the first Six Nations game against Ireland next month.

Bordeaux centre James McLaren also returns to the international fold.

McLaren has been capped 20 times by his country but fell down the pecking order as McGeechan switched his back-line around.

McLaren, capped 20 times for Scotland, played in all of his country's Six Nations matches last season.

Glasgow Warriors lock Nathan Ross has also been handed the opportunity to impress after being on the verge of full international honours.

Ross played for the Scotland Development XV against Tonga in November 2001 and then went on to appear in all but one of Scotland A's seven matches in the same season, scoring a try against the Welsh.

He later joined the Scotland squad in North America after the start of the 2002 tour.

Worcester centre Ben Hinshelwood and Glasgow Warriors Andrew Henderson are both ruled out for selection through injury.

SQUAD: G Beveridge (Glasgow Rugby), M Blair (Edinburgh Rugby), A Craig (Orrell), S Cranston (The Borders), S Danielli (Bath), A Dickson (Edinburgh Rugby), I Fairley (The Borders), D Hodge (Edinburgh Rugby), C Howarth (Glasgow Rugby), B Laney (Edinburgh Rugby), D Lee (Edinburgh Rugby), K Logan (London Wasps), J McLaren (Bordeaux Begles), G Metcalfe (Glasgow Rugby), S Moffat (Glasgow Rugby), C Paterson (Edinburgh Rugby), B Redpath (Sale Sharks), G Ross (Leeds Tykes), J Steel (Glasgow Rugby), G Townsend (The Borders), K Utterson (The Borders), S Webster (Edinburgh Rugby)

R Beattie (Bristol Shoguns), G Bulloch (Glasgow Rugby), A Dall (Edinburgh Rugby), C Di Ciacca (Edinburgh Rugby), B Douglas (The Borders), I Fullarton (Sale Sharks), S Grimes (Newcastle Falcons), A Hall (Glasgow Rugby), D Hall (Edinburgh Rugby), D Hilton (Glasgow Rugby), N Hines (Edinburgh Rugby), A Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), G Kerr (Leeds Tykes), M Leslie (Edinburgh Rugby), D Macfadyen (Glasgow Rugby), A Mower (Newcastle Falcons), S Murray (Edinburgh Rugby), J Petrie (Glasgow Rugby), B Pountney (Northampton Saints), A Rennick (The Borders), N Ross (Glasgow Rugby), R Russell (Saracens), S Scott (The Borders), C Smith (Edinburgh Rugby), T Smith (Northampton Saints), M Stewart (Northampton Saints), S Taylor (Edinburgh Rugby), J White (Glasgow Rugby).