• Ask Steven

Sandy Lyle and the 'fifth major'

ESPN staff
November 24, 2013
Sandy Lyle won the Tournament Players Championship the year before he won the Masters © Getty Images

The Tournament Players Championship is sometimes called "the fifth major". How many British golfers have won it? asked Jeremy Browning

This event, which is actually now officially just called the Players Championship, started in 1974, and since 1982 has been played at the Tournament Players Club at Sawgrass in Florida. The only British golfer to win it so far is Sandy Lyle, back in 1987, two years after his British Open victory and the year before he won the Masters.

Lyle was the first non-American to win it, and only ten others have done so since - including the Australian Steve Elkington, one of just five golfers to win it twice (Tiger Woods joined them with his second victory earlier this year). Jack Nicklaus is alone in winning three - the first one, in 1974, and also in 1976 and 1978.

Download ESPN's new UK sport app, a fresh and powerful new way to follow your favourite UK sports news, scores and video.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Ask Your Question

Ask Steven on Facebook » #asksteven


Ask Steven Home