• Ask Steven

Pick and mix at the worlds

ESPN staff
November 25, 2013
Mo Farah has taken gold twice in the men's 5000m © Getty Images

Has any event at the outdoor world championships been won by a different person each time? asked Michael Lawrence

The world athletics championships started in 1983, and there have now been 14 of them.

None of the individual events has had 14 different winners - the record is 13, in the men's high jump (Javier Sotomayor of Cuba is the only repeat winner, in 1993 and 1997) and the men's triple jump (Jonathan Edwards won in 1995 and 2001).

There have been 12 different winners of the men's 5000 metres (only Ismael Kirui of Kenya and Britain's Mo Farah took gold twice), the men's javelin (Jan Zelezny won it three times), the women's 100m (Marion Jones and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce twice), the women's 400m hurdles (Nezha Bidouane and Jana Pittman-Rawlinson twice), and the women's marathon (the Kenyan pair of Catherine Ndereba and Edna Kiplagat twice each).

At the other end of the scale there have only been six different winners of the men's long jump, including two men - Ivan Pedroso and Dwight Phillips - who won it four times.

Download ESPN's new UK sport app, a fresh and powerful new way to follow your favourite UK sports news, scores and video.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Ask Your Question

Ask Steven on Facebook » #asksteven


Ask Steven Home