• Ask Steven

Hamilton moving up in British success

ESPN staff
December 7, 2013
Lewis Hamilton won the world championship in 2008 © Getty Images

Lewis Hamilton won his 22nd grand prix during 2013. How many Britons have won more? asked Robert Ballard

Lewis Hamilton's win in Hungary - his first for Mercedes - was his 22nd grand prix victory, putting him level with Damon Hill.

The only British drivers to have won more are Jim Clark (25), Jackie Stewart (27) and Nigel Mansell (31).

Only 11 men overall have won more GPs than Hamilton and Hill: the others (excluding the three Brits already mentioned) are Nelson Piquet (23), Juan Manuel Fangio (24), Niki Lauda (25), Fernando Alonso (32), Sebastian Vettel (39), Ayrton Senna (41), Alain Prost (51) and the runaway leader Michael Schumacher (91). The Finnish pair of Mika Hakkinen and Kimi Raikkonen have both won 20.

Download ESPN's new UK sport app, a fresh and powerful new way to follow your favourite UK sports news, scores and video.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Ask Your Question

Ask Steven on Facebook » #asksteven


Ask Steven Home