• Ask Steven

Luck of the Irish at Aintree

ESPN staff
January 29, 2014
© Getty Images

How many Irish-trained horses have won the Grand National? asks Darren Coakes

Overall 14 winners of the Aintree Grand National have been trained in Ireland.

Six of them have come since 1999, when Bobbyjo won; he was followed by Papillon (2000), Monty's Pass (2003), Hedgehunter (2005), Numbersixvalverde (2006) and Silver Birch (2007).

There was also a golden time for Irish-trained horses in the 1950s, when the great Vincent O'Brien sent out a hat-trick of winners - Early Mist (1953), Royal Tan (1954) and Quare Times (1955); they were followed by Mr What in 1958, and later by L'Escargot (1975).

Previous Irish-trained winners were Caughoo (a 100-1 shot in 1947), Workman 91939), Troytown (1920) and Ambush (1900).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Ask Your Question

Ask Steven on Facebook » #asksteven


Ask Steven Home