• Ask Steven

A double darting delight

ESPN staff
February 19, 2014
Phil Taylor has won both the PDC and BDO world titles - but was not the first player to do so © PA Photos

How many people have won both versions of the world darts championship? asked Chris Edwards

The big split in darts occurred in 1994, when the PDC (Professional Darts Corporation) broke away from the BDO (British Darts Organisation) and set up their own version of a world championship.

Since the PDC included most of the leading players, their title soon became the more sought-after one. The first winner of the PDC title was Dennis Priestley, who had won the BDO title three years previously in 1991.

He was followed as PDC champion by Phil Taylor, who won the first of his 14 titles in 1995: he had also won the BDO title before the split, in 1990 and 1992, so has collected a record 16 world titles in all.

The Canadian John Part won the first post-split BDO title, in 1994, and later won the PDC version in 2003 and 2008. The only other man to win both is Raymond van Barneveld, the Dutchman who won four BDO titles between 1998 and 2005, and lifted the PDC crown in 2007.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Ask Your Question

Ask Steven on Facebook » #asksteven


Ask Steven Home