• Ask Steven

Super six for Quevega

ESPN staff
April 15, 2014
Quevega has won six successive Mares' Hurdles at the Cheltenham Festival © Getty Images

Quevaga has won the Mares' Hurdle at Cheltenham for the last six years. Has any other horse won it so often? asked Bill Collins

The short answer is no: actually only one other horse has ever won it!

The Mares' Hurdle - originally known as the David Nicholson Mares' Hurdle, until sponsorship by OLBG in 2012 - was only established in 2008, when it was run on the final day of the Cheltenham Festival and won by Whiteoak, ridden by Jason Maguire and trained by Ginger McCain's son Donald.

Quevaga's six successive wins in an annual race has been equalled in Britain in modern times only by Brown Jack, which won the Queen Alexandra Stakes at Ascot each year from 1929 to 1934. Gods Solution won the Race Around Yorkshire Handicap at Thirsk in 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988 and 1989 ... and again in 1991, by which time it had been renamed the Gods Solution Handicap!

In the 19th century a horse called Doctor Syntax won the Preston Gold Cup seven years running (1815-1821), while Beeswing won the Newcastle Gold Cup six times (1836-39 and 1841-42).

The worldwide record is held by an American horse called Leaping Plum, which won the Grasmick Handicap at Fonner Park in Nebraska each year from 1995 to 2001 then, after missing out in 2002 (he was third), returned for an eighth victory in the race in 2003. Aged 13, Leaping Plum signed off with fourth place in the half-mile sprint in 2004.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Ask Your Question

Ask Steven on Facebook » #asksteven


Ask Steven Home