• Ask Steven

Home front

ESPN staff
March 23, 2015
Stirling Moss won the British Grand Prix twice in the 1950s © Getty Images

Who was the first Briton to win the British Grand Prix? asked Mark Johnstone

The first home driver to win the British Grand Prix was Stirling Moss, in 1955. He just pipped his Mercedes team-mate, the world champion Juan Manuel Fangio, in an exciting race - the first of five British GPs to be held at Aintree, the home of horse racing's Grand National.

Moss won again in 1957 (a shared drive with fellow Brit Tony Brooks). Since then nine British drivers have won it. Jim Clark took the chequered flag on five occasions, in 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965 and 1967, winning at Aintree, Brands Hatch and Silverstone (three times).

Nigel Mansell won the British GP four times, in 1986, 1987, 1991 and 1992. Jackie Stewart won in 1969 and 1971, James Hunt in 1977, John Watson in 1981, Damon Hill in 1994, Johnny Herbert in 1995, David Coulthard in 1999 and 2000, and Lewis Hamilton in his world championship years of 2008 and 2014.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd

Ask Your Question

Ask Steven on Facebook » #asksteven


Ask Steven Home