The first Brazilian Grand Prix took place at Interlagos in 1972 as a non-championship event, and the following year the event won its place on the official F1 calendar.

In 1978 the event moved to the Jacarepagua circuit in Rio de Janeiro, and although the race returned to Interlagos for the following two years, the Rio venue became the sole host from 1981 until 1989. In 1990 the event returned to Interlagos where it has remained ever since.

The Brazilian Grand Prix has seen many championship deciders, including Kimi Raikkonen snatching the championship from Lewis Hamilton in 2007, Hamilton's last-gasp effort in 2008, and Jenson Button securing the titles for himself and his Brawn team with one race of the 2009 season still remaining.

The counters and curves of the Interlagos circuit have thrown up some interesting results for the Brazilian Grand Prix - as has the notorious weather. The 2003 race was won by the less-than-fancied Jordan of Giancarlo Fisichella. Heavy rain before the race put all the teams on the back foot when it came to tyre selection. When Fernando Alonso spun, blocking the track, the race was red flagged. Kimi Raikkonen was initially announced as the winner but this decision was reversed by a court of appeal when it emerged that Fisichella had crossed the line as the leader twice prior to the race stoppage.

In May 2008 the mayor of Sao Paulo announced they had signed a new deal with Bernie Ecclestone to host an event until 2015. This news kick-started plans to revamp the pit and paddock facilities of this now aging track.