Churchill Cup
O'Sullivan unveils USA squad
ESPNscrum Staff
May 25, 2011
Mike MacDonald of USA in action during match between Japan and USA at Prince Chichibu Memorial Rugby Stadium in Tokyo, Japan on November 22, 2008.
Mike MacDonald has been called into the USA squad © Getty Images

US Eagles coach Eddie O'Sullivan has named five players based in England for their Churchill Cup campaign next month.

Forwards Will Johnson (London Irish), Mike MacDonald (Leeds Carnegie) and Shawn Pittman (London Welsh) are joined by backs Junior Sifa and Tim Usasz, who both play Championship rugby for Nottingham. Former Bath lock John van der Giessen has also been included, along with ex-Lions flanker Todd Clever.

The USA take on England Saxons at Northampton's Franklin's Gardens on June 4 and Tonga at Moseley Road, Esher, four days later. Finals day is at Worcester's Sixways on June 18.

The squad consists of 13 overseas-based players, while seven members of the squad are currently in the UK representing the United States in the IRB Sevens World Series.

"The fact that there are some players resting gives an opportunity to others to make a case for inclusion in the final selection for Rugby Word Cup," O'Sullivan said.

USA squad:

Forwards: Inaki Basauri (L' Aquila), Chris Biller (San Francisco Golden Gate), Todd Clever (Suntory Sungoliath), Pat Danahy (Life University), Eric Fry (Las Vegas Blackjacks), JJ Gagiano (University of Cape Town), Nic Johnson (unattached), Will Johnson (London Irish), Danny LaPrevotte (San Francisco Golden Gate), Scott LaValla (unattached), Mike MacDonald (Leeds Carnegie), Shawn Pittman (London Welsh), Louis Stanfill (Mogliano), Phil Thiel (Life University), John van der Giessen (Utah Warriors).

Backs: Paul Emerick (Life University), Tai Enosa (Belmont Shore), Troy Hall (New York Athletic Club), Colin Hawley (Olympic Club), Nese Malifa (Glendale), Mike Palefau (Utah Warriors), Mike Petri (New York Athletic Club), Mile Pulu (San Francisco Golden Gate), Junior Sifa (Nottingham), Andrew Suniula (Chicago Griffins), Roland Suniula (Boston Rugby), Kevin Swiryn (Agen), Zack Test (unattached), Tim Usasz (Nottingham).

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Live Sports

Communication error please reload the page.