• Cricket World Cup 2019

England will host 2019 World Cup

ESPN staff
May 27, 2013
MS Dhoni led India to victory in the 2011 Cricket World Cup © Getty Images

England has been officially chosen to host the 2019 Cricket World Cup, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed on Monday.

Ten teams are due to compete in the event, which will be held at ten venues around the country - all of which will be finalised at a later date.

"The ECB is honoured to have been selected to stage one of the largest and most important global sports events which will be a wonderful boost to sport and cricket in particular throughout England and Wales," ECB chief executive David Collier said in a statement.

England hosted the first World Cup in 1975 and also staged the tournament in 1979, 1983 and 1999.

ICC chief executive David Richardson added: "The ICC Cricket World Cup attracts a broadcast audience in excess of 1.5 billion people and is one of the premier events in world cricket.

"England and Wales boasts a number of high quality cricket venues providing players, officials and spectators with excellent facilities. We look forward to working with the ECB to deliver an outstanding tournament."

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.