• ICC news

Test Championship to replace Champions Trophy

ESPNcricinfo staff
June 29, 2013

ICC Tournaments 2016-2023

  • World Test Championship
  • 2017 - England, 2021 - India
  • World Cup
  • 2019 - England, 2023 - India
  • World Twenty20
  • 2016 - India, 2020 - Australia
  • Women's World Cup
  • 2017 - England, 2021 - New Zealand
  • Women's World Twenty20
  • 2018 - West Indies, 2022 - South Africa
  • U19 World Cup
  • 2016 - Bangladesh, 2018 - New Zealand, 2020 - South Africa, 2022 - West Indies
  • World Twenty20 Qualifier
  • 2015 - Ireland/Scotland, 2019 - Tba
  • World Cup Qualifier
  • 2018 - Bangladesh, 2022 - Zimbabwe

The Champions Trophy is now officially history with the ICC confirming a World Test Championship from 2017 onwards in line with its goal of having one pinnacle tournament for each of the three formats over a four-year period. This also means that the World Twenty20 will he held once every four years starting 2016 instead of the current two-year interval.

In another decision taken to "ensure an optimum balance between the three formats of the game", teams will now have to play a minimum of 16 Tests in each four-year cycle with the ICC board accepting the recommendation of its cricket committee. There have been a number of recent examples of Test series being postponed due to conflicting demands, either from one-day cricket or the proliferation of Twenty20 leagues. Countries might still be able to give preference to limited-overs cricket, though, with the requirement being set as low as 16 Tests.

The success of the recent edition of the Champions Trophy had given rise to talk that the tournament might live on after all but the ICC has stuck to its stated intent of moving on.

"The ICC Champions Trophy in England and Wales was highly acclaimed and appreciated by all," David Richardson, the ICC chief executive, said. "However, the principle of one pinnacle global event for each of the three formats over a four-year cycle is a good one and, as such, the ICC Board has agreed to replace the Champions Trophy with the ICC World Test Championship.

"Now that the ICC World Test Championship has been confirmed, we'll work on the playing conditions and qualification criteria, and will submit these to the ICC Board for approval in due course."

England and India were announced as venues for the first two editions of the World Test Championship in June-July 2017 and February-March 2021 as also for the 2019 and 2023 World Cups respectively. India will also host the 2016 World Twenty20 with the 2020 one going to Australia.

The Women's World Twenty20 2014 has been expanded to ten teams, with the top three teams from the qualifiers to join the current seven, but going forward, the event has been delinked from the men's tournament.

The 2010 and 2012 women's editions were held concurrently with the men's to increase visibility for the former but after 2014, the next Women's World Twenty20 will be separately held in 2018 in the West Indies.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.