Cook, Anderson up for Cricketer of the Year

ESPNcricinfo staff
December 3, 2013
Alastair Cook captained England as they retained the Ashes this summer © Getty Images

England duo Alastair Cook and James Anderson have been named on the shortlist for the ICC's Cricketer of the Year award.

They face competition from South Africa's Hashim Amla, Australian Michael Clarke, Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara.

Cook also leads the ICC's Test Team of the Year. He is joined by England bowlers Anderson and Graeme Swann.

MS Dhoni leads the ODI Team of the Year. Dale Steyn was included in the Test side for the sixth successive year, while Dhoni made the ODI line-up for the sixth consecutive year as well.

Amla was named in the Test side for the fourth straight year, while Cook made an appearance for the third year on the trot.

Cook took over the England Test captaincy from Andrew Strauss on August 29, 2012, before leading his country to their first Test series win on Indian soil since 1984-85, scoring centuries in each of the first three matches. He then retained the Ashes in his first series as captain.

Performances between August 7, 2012 and August 25, 2013 were considered by a panel chaired by former India captain Anil Kumble, also the ICC cricket committee chairman.

ICC Test Team of the Year (in batting order)

Alastair Cook (capt), Cheteshwar Pujara, Hashim Amla, Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (wk), Graeme Swann, Dale Steyn, James Anderson, Vernon Philander, R Ashwin (12th man)

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order)

Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shikhar Dhawan, Hashim Amla, Kumar Sangakkara, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Saeed Ajmal, Mitchell Starc, James Anderson, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan (12th man)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd