• Tour de France, Stage 15, Limoux to Montpellier

Cavendish claims first win in green

ESPN staff
July 17, 2011
Mark Cavendish has won four stages on this year's Tour de France © Getty Images

Mark Cavendish tightened his grip on the green jersey after winning a windy Stage 15 at the Tour de France.

The Manxman recovered from an early puncture to power to his fourth stage victory on this year's tour. Cavendish's win came as a result of a dominant team performance by his HTC-Highroad, as his team-mates did much of the hard work at the front of the peloton in windy conditions on the 187-kilometre stage between Limoux and Montpellier.

After a superb lead-out by Mark Renshaw, Cavendish hit the front with 200 metres remaining and held off Tyler Farrar and Alessandro Petacchi. It comes a day after Cavendish endured a tough day in the mountains, narrowly finishing inside the cut-off time after being dropped on the first climb.

"It was incredible," Cavendish said. "The guys rode again all day . The first half we worked with Europcar - they were riding really strong, but the second half we were on our own. The guys are motorbikes.

"I thought they might be a bit tired after waiting for me and pulling like they did yesterday, but I think the fact we got through yesterday like we did it was even more gratifying to win here."

Thomas Voeckler holds onto the yellow jersey after maintaining his advantage at the top of the general classification. The riders return to action on Tuesday after a rest day on Monday.

Tour de France, Stage 15, Limoux to Montpellier
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) HTC-Highroad 4:20:24
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo - same time
3 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Lampre - ISD - same time
4 Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale - same time
5 Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team - same time
6 Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky - same time
7 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Quickstep Cycling Team - same time
8 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne - same time
9 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team - - same time
10 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale -- same time

General classification after Stage 15:
1. Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Team Europcar - 65:24:33
2. Fränk Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek - at one minutes 49 seconds
3. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team - at two minutes 06 seconds
4. Andy Schleck (Lux) Leopard Trek - at two minutes 15 seconds
5. Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas - at three minutes 16 seconds
6. Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel - at three minutes 44 seconds
7. Alberto Contador (Spa) Saxo-Bank Sungard - at four minutes
8. Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre - at four minutes 01 second
9. Thomas Danielson (USA) Team Garmin-Cervelo - at five minutes 46 seconds
10. Kevin de Weert (Bel) - Quick Step - at six minutes 18 seconds

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.