• Tour de France, Stage 13

Wiggins shows pace as Greipel wins Stage 13

ESPN staff
July 14, 2012
Andre Greipel pipped Peter Sagan to win Stage 13 of the Tour de France © PA Photos

Bradley Wiggins showed an impressive turn of pace to lead out team-mate Edvald Boasson Hagen but the Norwegian was unable to win Stage 13 for Team Sky as Andre Greipel snatched victory.

The Brit, who has been impeccably assisted by his team-mates as he bids to become the first British winner of the Tour de France, went some way to repay the debt as he played second fiddle to Boasson Hagen, making a late burst to release his colleague, but it was in vain as Greipel pipped Peter Sagan to claim his third stage victory with Boasson Hagen finishing third.

Wiggins, who continues to lead the General Classification after finishing in the leading pack, will make history on Sunday when he becomes the first British man to wear the yellow jersey for seven days - breaking the record of Chris Boardman, who held it for six days over three Tours.

"Bradley never looked to be in any danger, the important thing today was to be at the front," Team Sky principal Dave Brailsford said. "This stage is another box ticked. It was a really niggly and hard day but we have come through unscathed."

World champion Mark Cavendish had been expected to challenge for his second stage win on Saturday, but the Manxman was dropped on the day's only climb 23km from the end, eventually finishing more than eight minutes down.

Greipel's Lotto-Belisol team did much of the ground work in the closing part of the race as they chased down a breakaway group and frontrunner Michael Morkov on the climb up Mont Saint-Clair.

"It was very close," Greipel said. "I was next to last over the climb. But the team worked great and brought me up to the front."

Stage 13 result
1 Andre Greipel (GER) Lotto Belisol - 4:57:59
2 Peter Sagan (SVK) Liquigas-Cannondale - 0:00
3 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) Sky Procycling - 0:00
4 Sébastien Hinault (FRA) AG2R La Mondiale - 0:00
5 Daryl Impey (RSA) Orica GreenEdge - 0:00
6 Julien Simon (FRA) Saur - Sojasun - 0:00
7 Marco Marcato (ITA) Vacansoleil-DCM - 0:00
8 Philippe Gilbert (BEL) BMC Racing - 0:00
9 Peter Velits (SVK) Omega Pharma-Quickstep - 0:00
10 Danilo Hondo (GER) Lampre - ISD - 0:00

General classification
1 Bradley Wiggins (GBR) Sky Procycling - 59:32:32
2 Christopher Froome (GBR) Sky Procycling - 0:02:05
3 Vincenzo Nibali (ITA) Liquigas-Cannondale - 0:02:23
4 Cadel Evans (AUS) BMC Racing Team - 0:03:19
5 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (BEL) Lotto Belisol Team - 0:04:48
6 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (ESP) RadioShack-Nissan - 0:06:15
7 Tejay van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing - 0:06:57
8 Janez Brajkovic (SLO) Astana - 0:07:30
9 Pierre Rolland (FRA) Europcar - 0:08:31
10 Thibaut Pinot (FRA) FDJ-Big Mat 0:08:51

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.