• Giro d'Italia, Stage 10

Uran powers to stage win as Wiggins cracks

ESPN staff
May 14, 2013
Rigoberto Uran showcased his climbing skills on the Altopiano Del Montasio © Getty Images

Team Sky's Rigoberto Uran produced a brilliant solo breakaway to take Stage 10, but Sir Bradley Wiggins' Giro d'Italia hopes were blown away as he cracked on the final climb of the day.

Wiggins had a torrid first week with crashes and mechanical issues hampering him, but he came into the stage following the rest day in positive mood. His team set a fierce tempo for much of the day in a bid to put leader Vincenzo Nibali under pressure.

But the Italian did not panic at any stage, he allowed Uran to go away and stretch out his lead to the best part of a minute. Nibali cranked up the pace on the steepest part of the Altopiano Del Montasio and that move put Wiggins in immediate difficulty.

The Tour de France champion was dropped by a group including Nibali and Cadel Evans who both pressed on when sensing Wiggins' problems.

The Nibali group attempted to chase down Uran, but he had saved enough for the final couple of kilometres to claim the stage win in the first mountain top finish of the 2013 Giro.

Carlos Betancour pipped Nibali to second, while Wiggins came home in 10th - a minute and eight seconds behid Uran.

Stage 10, Cordenons - Altopiano Del Montasio 167km
1. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Sky 4:37:42
2. Carlos Betancur (Col) AG2R +:20
3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana +:31
4. Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini +:31
5. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing +:31
6. Rafa Majka (Pol) Saxo - Tinkoff +:31
7. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R +:31
8. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack +:47
9. Benat Intxausti (Spa) Movistar +1:06
10 Bradley Wiggins (GB) Sky +1:16

General classification after stage 10
1. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana 38:57:32
2. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing +:41
3. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Sky +2:04
4. Bradley Wiggins (GB) Sky +2:05
5. Robert Gesink (Ned) Blanco +2:12
6. Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre +2:13
7. Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini +2:55
8. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre +3:35
9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R +:4:17
10. Rafa Majka (Pol) Saxo - Tinkoff +:4:21

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.