• Giro d'Italia, Stage 13

Cavendish wins second successive stage

ESPN staff
May 17, 2013
Mark Cavendish won his fourth stage of the Giro d'Italia © AP

Mark Cavendish sprinted to his second consecutive Giro d'Italia stage victory after winning the 254km stretch from Busseto to Cherasco.

Cavendish clinched victory with a burst of pace in the last few hundred metres, ahead of Giacomo Nizzolo in second and Luka Mezgec in third.

The overall standings remain the same, with current pink jersey holder Vincenzo Nibali leading Cadel Evans by 41 seconds and Team Sky's Rigoberto Uran third, two minutes and four seconds off the lead.

Victory for Omega rider Cavendish follows fellow Brit Sir Bradley Wiggins' decision to quit the Tour on Friday morning following a struggle with illness.

However, despite sealing his 101st career win, Cavendish admitted that he was feeling the strain ahead of Saturday's 168km mountain climb between Cervere and Bardonecchia.

"Today was a bit of a bonus but I'm so tired and I don't know how I'm going to get into the mountains," Cavendish said. "I had to go 350m out after that hard day and I'm on my knees.

"I didn't want to go for the sprint for today but the call came from the team so I had to go for it. Once again the team did brilliantly and I had to finish it for them."

Stage 13, Busseto to Cherasco
1. Mark Cavendish (GB) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 6:09:55
2. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) RadioShack Leopard
3. Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team Argos-Shimano
4. Brett Lancaster (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
5. Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling
6. Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
7. Daniele Bennati (Ita) Team Saxo-Tinkoff
8. Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Lampre-Merida
9. Anthony Roux (Fra) FDJ
10. Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli

General classification after stage 13
1. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 46:28:14
2. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team +0:00:41
3. Rigoberto Uran (Col) Sky Procycling +0:02:04
4. Robert Gesink (Ned) Blanco Pro Cycling Team +0:02:12
5. Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-Merida +0:02:13
6. Mauro Santambrogio (Ita) Vini Fantini-Selle Italia +0:02:55
7. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Lampre-Merida +0:03:35
8. Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) Movistar Team +0:04:05
9. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale +0:04:17
10. Rafal Majka (Pol) Team Saxo-Tinkoff +0:04:21

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.