• Tour de France

No Uran in Froome's Tour support act

ESPN staff
June 20, 2013
Chris Froome has had the measure of big rival Alberto Contador this year © Getty Images

Ian Stannard, Geraint Thomas and Peter Kennaugh are three of the eight support riders for Team Sky leader Chris Froome at the Tour de France, but there is no place in the team for Rigoberto Uran.

Froome is the bookmakers' favourite to win the yellow jersey following a stellar first half of the year.

He said this week that he would have an input in team selection and the plans have been finalised, with Richie Porte set to be Froome's key ally.

Uran is one of Sky's most powerful riders, but he has been left out having put up such a bold show in the Giro d'Italia where he was Sir Bradley Wiggins' wingman before taking up the leader's role following the Brit's injury problems.

Eight of the nine rode in the Criterium Du Dauphine, which Froome won with Porte in second.

Thomas has Tour experience, but Stannard and Kennaugh - a gold medallist at London 2012 - will be making their debuts when the race gets underway next week.

Froome will need support in the mountains if he is the keep his big rivals at bay and as well as Porte, Vasil Kiryienka, David Lopez and Kanstantsin Siutsou will have key roles to play.

Team principal Sir Dave Brailsford said: "Making the final selection of riders has been especially tough this year but we believe that we've found the right combination for the Tour de France. We have a group of nine riders that are all in great form and ready for the challenge ahead."

Froome is ready for the challenge and in an interview on Team Sky's website, he said: "I'm delighted with the balance in this team and every one of these riders is going to play a pivotal role once the racing begins. Most of us were at the Criterium du Dauphine and I was hugely impressed there with the way the team came together in control of the leader's jersey. It gave me huge faith and I could not be happier with the selection."

Sky team for Tour de France:
Chris Froome (GB, 28), Richie Porte (AUS, 28), Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR, 26), Peter Kennaugh (GB, 24), Vasil Kiryienka (BLR, 31), David Lopez (ESP, 32), Kanstantsin Siutsou (BLR, 30), Ian Stannard (GB, 26) Geraint Thomas (GB, 27)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.