• Tour de France, Stage 14

Trentin keeps Quick Step rolling

ESPN staff
July 13, 2013
Matteo Trentin had the best kick at the finish in Lyon © Getty Images

Omega Pharma-Quick Step secured back-to-back stage wins in the Tour de France as Matteo Trentin won a sprint finish in Lyon.

On a day when Chris Froome's Sky team marshalled the peloton superbly, Trentin had the best finishing dig of those in a big breakaway group and followed the win of Mark Cavendish 24 hours previous.

The break went away early in the day and Froome was happy to let them go as there were no threats on general classification. And with Froome's rivals content to conserve energy ahead of the huge climb up Mont Ventoux on Sunday, those who got away early were never threatened.

Julien Simon looked like he had snatched the stage for France when jumping away with eight kilometres to go. The chasers took some time to organise themselves, but they worked together after passing under the five kilometre banner and reeled in Simon.

Michael Albasini made his bid for glory in the final 500 metres, but Trentin had the legs and just prevailed in a frantic dash to the line.

The peloton rolled over the line 7:17 down as the lead riders turned their focus to Sunday's first big day in the Alps.

Stage 14 result
1. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 4hr 15min 11sec
2. Michael Albasini (Swi) Orica-GreenEdge
3. Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin-Sharp
4. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Movistar Team
5. Egoitz Garcia Echeguibel (Spa) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
6. Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Lotto Belisol
7. Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Argos-Shimano
8. Arthur Vichot (Fra) FDJ.fr
9. Pavel Brutt (Rus) Katusha
10. Cyril Gautier (Fra) Team Europcar

General Classification after Stage 14
1. Christopher Froome (GB) Team Sky 55hr 22min 08sec
2. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team +2min 28sec
3. Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo-Tinkoff +2min 45sec
4. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Saxo-Tinkoff +2min 48sec
5. Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Belkin +3min 01sec
6. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana +4min 39sec
7. Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma +4min 44sec
8. Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar +5min 18sec
9. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale +5min 39sec
10. Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Sharp +5min 52sec

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd