• Tour of Poland

Wiggins wins Tour of Poland time trial

ESPN staff
August 4, 2013
Sir Bradley Wiggins finished in 46 minutes 36 seconds in the Tour of Poland time trial © Getty Images

Sir Bradley Wiggins got back to winning ways with an impressive victory in the 37km time trial of the Tour of Poland.

Wiggins, who sealed victory in the Tour de France and Olympic time trial last year, recorded a time of 46 minutes and 36 seconds, defeating his closest challenger, Fabian Cancellara, by 56 seconds, in the final stage of the week-long race.

The Tour of Poland was the 33-year-old's first competitive action since withdrawing from the Giro d'Italia in May. The Team Sky rider was unable to defend his Tour de France title, which was won by team-mate Chris Froome, because of a knee injury.

However Wiggins put a difficult few months behind him by signalling a return to form with his first win of the 2013 season.

Team Sky sports director Dan Hunt said: "It was a fantastic performance. It was a real lesson in how to time trial. We went out this morning and researched the course and it was obvious that it suited Brad.

"The climbs suited him, the descents suited him and then it was a flying, rolling run-in into Krakow. He absolutely smashed it."

Wiggins will next compete in the Eneco Tour in Holland from August 12, followed by the Tour of Britain and the Road World Championships in Florence in September, where he will focus on the time trial.

Orica Greenedge rider Pieter Weening was the overall winner in Poland.

Results of stage seven from Wieliczka to Krakow, 37 km:
1. Bradley Wiggins (Britain / Team Sky) 46:36"
2. Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland / RadioShack) +56"
3. Taylor Phinney (U.S. / BMC Racing) +1:14"
4. Marco Pinotti (Italy / BMC Racing) +1:20"
5. Kristof Vandewalle (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Quick-Step) +1:40"
6. Pieter Weening (Netherlands / Orica) +1:44"
7. Jon Izagirre (Spain / Euskaltel) +2:05"
8. Dominik Nerz (Germany / BMC Racing) +2:13"
9. Sergey Chernetsky (Russia / Katusha) +2:15"
10. Rafal Majka (Poland / Saxo - Tinkoff) +2:17"

Final General Classification:
1. Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEdge)
2. Jon Izaguirre (Euskaltel-Euskadi) at 13"
3. Christophe Riblon (AG2R La Mondiale) at 16"
4. Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) at 26"
5. Sergio Henao (Sky Procycling) at 51"
6. Eros Capecchi (Movistar)
7. Domenico Pozzovivo (AG2R La Mondiale)
8. Ivan Basso (Cannondale)
9. Tanel Kangert (Astana)
10. Chris Anker Sörensen (Saxo-Tinkoff)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd