• Tour de France

Kristoff powers to Stage 12 win

ESPN staff
July 17, 2014
Alexander Kristoff collected his first stage win at the Tour de France © Getty Images

Alexander Kristoff turned on the afterburners to claim victory in Stage 12 of the Tour de France.

The Katusha rider finished ahead of Peter Sagan to pick up his maiden stage win at the event after he timed his sprint to perfection with a few metres to go. Sagan finished second for the fourth time at this year's event and has yet to win a stage.

Kristoff trailed Arnaud Demare, Matteo Trentin and Sagan towards the end but broke clear to storm to the win in Saint-Etienne on the 185.5-km stage. Kristoff also became the first Norwegian in three years to win a stage after Edvald Boasson Hagen triumphed in 2011.

"It's a great feeling," Kristoff said. "I have been dreaming about this since I was a child and to finally achieve it is amazing. I have had some second places, but now it's nice to be in first place.

"I was just sitting on [Matteo] Trentin in the last 500m and waiting and waiting. I was so happy when I see they could not pass me."

Vincenzo Nibali retained his lead in the yellow jersey at the top of the overall standings ahead of Team Sky's Richie Porte after staying out of trouble.

Stage 12 result
1. Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha 4:32:11
2. Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale, same time
3. Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ, st
4. Michael Albasini (Sui) Orica-GreenEdge, st
5. Ramunas Navardauskas (Lth) Garmin-Sharp, st
6. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step, st
7. Daniele Bennati (Ita) Tinkoff-Saxo, st
8. Bryan Coquard (Fra) Europcar, st
9. Daniel Oss (Ita) BMC, st
10. Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale, st

General classification
1. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana, 51:31:34
2. Richie Porte (Aus) Team Sky, +2:23
3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar, +2:47
4. Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +3:01
5. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ.fr, +3:47
6. Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing, +3:56
7. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Ag2r-La Mondiale, +3:57
8. Bauke Mollema (Ned) Belkin, +4:08
9. Jurgen van den Broeck (Bel) Lotto Belisol, +4:18
10. Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana, +4:31

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close