• Vuelta a Espana

Rodriguez wins as leader crashes out

ESPN staff
September 11, 2010
Joaquin Rodriguez moved up to second in the general classification © Getty Images

Joaquin Rodriguez snatched victory in the 14th stage of the Vuelta a Espana as race leader Igor Anton crashed out.

Rodriguez powered past Vincenzo Nibali on the final climb up to Pena Cabarga with 800m remaining, although Nibali hung on to finish second, twenty seconds back, which was enough to claim the red jersey following Anton's crash.

Anton's race came to an end when he crashed at high speed after touching wheels with team-mate Egoi Martinez at the foot of the Pena Cabarga.

British rider David Millar made an early move, opening up a 13-minute gap with Garmin-Transitions team-mate David Zabriskie and Milram's Niki Terpstra (Milram), but the advantage was slowly whittled down and Terpstra's brave resistance finally came to an end with just 2km remaining.

Stage 14 Result
1 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha 4:26:43
2 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
3 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia
4 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis
5 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Ag2R-La Mondiale
6 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank
7 Xavier Tondo (Spa) Cervélo Test Team
8 David Garcia Dapena (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia
9 Peter Velits (Svk) Team HTC-Columbia
10 Tom Danielson (USA) Garmin-Transitions

General Classification
1 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo 60:55:39
2 Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Team Katusha 0:00:04
3 Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 0:00:50
4 Xavier Tondo (Spa) Cervélo Test Team
5 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Ag2R-La Mondiale 0:02:11
6 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank 0:02:12
7 Peter Velits (Svk) Team HTC-Columbia 0:02:29
8 Tom Danielson (USA) Garmin-Transitions 0:03:29
9 Ruben Plaza (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne 0:03:41
10 Carlos Sastre (Spa) Cervélo Test Team 0:03:52

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.