• World Darts Championship

Awesome Lewis crushes Jones

ESPN staff
December 28, 2011
Adrian Lewis salutes the crowd © Getty Images

Adrian Lewis fired out a warning to his rivals with a demolition job on Wayne Jones to become the first man into the quarter finals of the World Championship.

The defending champion had been unconvincing in his opening two matches of the tournament, but looked far more focused as he made short work of Jones.

With Phil Taylor already back home in Stoke following his shock exit to Dave Chisnall, the door is open and Lewis made a signal of intent. A rapid opening set went Lewis' way and he broke Jones on his way to taking the second with a brilliant bullseye finish.

Lewis' level dipped in the third, but just when it appeared Jones would reduce the deficit he switched on the power and surged into a 3-0 lead.

Jones had no answer to the awesome scoring power of Lewis who wrapped up the match with a 58 checkout to seal a 4-0 win.

Lewis will meet Terry Jenkins in the last eight after the Bull brought an end to Justin Pipe's run in the tournament with a 4-1 victory.

Gary Anderson booked his place in the third round, but he had to withstand a terrific challenge from an inspired Devon Petersen before progressing 4-2.

Petersen arrived at the Alexandra Palace with no major experience to draw on, but he looked at ease on the big stage as he matched Anderson in the scoring stakes.

Anderson, though, has designs on going one better than 12 months ago when he was beaten in the final and he dug deep to book a meeting with Colin Lloyd.

Anderson took the opening set in six minutes, but Petersen was not overawed and levelled. Anderson opened up a two-set cushion when taking out double-top but Petersen continued to score heavily and a double-eight handed him the fifth set.

There was more drama in the sixth set as Anderson opened it by taking out 134 with a double-top, double-top finish. And his superior finishing ultimately proved decisive as he closed out the match by nailing a brilliant 124.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.