• Players Championship Finals

Taylor draws 'Asset' at PDC Players Championship Finals

ESPN staff
November 25, 2013
Phil Taylor won the Grand Slam of Darts on November 17 © PA Photos

Reigning champion Phil Taylor will begin the defence of his PDC Players Championship Finals title against 2010 champion Paul Nicholson after the first round draw was made on Sunday.

The tournament, which is the final televised event prior to December's world championship at Alexandra Palace, sees the top 32 players from the PDC Order of Merit battle it out in a straight knockout format.

Kim Huybrects, who Taylor defeated in last year's final, will face Terry Jenkins while ProTour leader Michael van Gerwen will play Jamie Lewis.

Dave Chisnall - who finished second in the ProTour following his third title win of the year in Barnsley on Saturday - will play Jelle Klaasen as he looks to right the wrongs of his whitewash first round exit to Wayne Jones in 2012.

Elsewhere, two-time world champion Adrian Lewis plays Kevin Painter and Raymond van Barneveld has been drawn against Mervyn King.

The tournament begins in Minehead on Friday.

PDC Players Championship Finals first round draw:
Michael van Gerwen (1) v Jamie Lewis (32)
Adrian Lewis (16) v Kevin Painter (17)
Steve Beaton (8) v James Wade (25)
Wes Newton (9) v Andy Smith (24)
Kim Huybrechst (5) v Terry Jenkins (28)
Ian White (12) v Ronnie Baxter (21)
Brendan Dolan (4) v Wayne Jones (29)
John Part (13) v Andy Hamilton (20)
Dave Chisnall (2) v Jelle Klaasen (31)
Gary Anderson (15) v Stuart Kellett (18)
Jamie Caven (7) v Colin Lloyd (26)
Simon Whitlock (10) v Justin Pipe (23)
Robert Thornton (6) v Richie Burnett (27)
Mervyn King (11) v Raymond van Barneveld (22)
Peter Wright (3) v Michael Smith (30)
Paul Nicholson (14) v Phil Taylor (19)

Download ESPN's new UK sport app, a fresh and powerful new way to follow your favourite UK sports news, scores and video.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd
ESPN staff Close