• Euro 2012

Foley out, McShane in for Ireland

ESPN staff
May 29, 2012
Kevin Foley will not feature at Euro 2012 © Getty Images

Paul McShane has been handed a place in Republic of Ireland's final 23 for Euro 2012, with Kevin Foley missing out on account of a hamstring injury.

McShane has been training with the squad at their camp in Italy amid concerns over Foley and after the Wolves defender failed to prove his fitness, coach Giovanni Trapattoni gave the nod to the Hull City man.

Trapattoni said: "Although Kevin has been recovering well, I have made the difficult decision to leave him out of the 23-player list after completing fitness tests on John O'Shea and Paul McShane. I have spoken to him and understand how difficult it is, saying that he can remain with the squad if he wishes."

Shay Given is recovering from a minor knee procedure and has been included, while John O'Shea is another to get the green light despite nursing a problem.

Trapattoni said: "With the injuries that we experienced in the squad over the past week, I have had to make a tough decision when it comes to naming the 23 players that must be submitted to UEFA for the championship."

Ireland open their Euro 2012 campaign against Croatia on June 10.

Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: 1, Shay Given (Aston Villa), 16, Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), 23 David Forde (Millwall).

Defenders: 4, John O'Shea (Sunderland), 5, Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), 3, Stephen Ward (Wolverhampton Wanderers), 2, Sean St Ledger (Leicester City), 18, Darren O'Dea (Celtic), 12, Stephen Kelly (Fulham), 13, Paul McShane (Hull City).

Midfielders: 6, Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), 8, Keith Andrews (West Bromwich Albion), 7, Aiden McGeady (Spartak Moscow), 15, Darron Gibson (Everton), 21, Paul Green (Derby), 11, Damien Duff (Fulham), 17, Stephen Hunt (Wolverhampton Wanderers), 22, James McClean (Sunderland).

Forwards: 10, Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), 9, Kevin Doyle (Wolverhampton Wanderers), 19, Shane Long (West Bromwich Albion), 14, Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), 20, Simon Cox (West Bromwich Albion)

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.