• Athletics

Farah among 109-strong Euro squad

ESPN staff
June 18, 2012
Mo Farah could defend his European title in Helsinki © PA Photos

Mo Farah has joined 108 others in a bloated Great Britain & Northern Ireland squad for the European Championships in Helsinki later this month.

The provisional party will be cut dramatically following this week's Olympic trials in Birmingham, because any track athletes already gaining automatic qualification for London 2012 will be de-selected from the Euros squad.

Farah will be chosen to compete over 5000 metres and 10,000m in London, but has opted to contest the 1500m at the trials in order to fine-tune his finishing speed ahead of the Games. He could compete in Helsinki in order to sharpen himself up over 5000m and defend his European title.

Farah said: "Running the 1500m at the Olympic trials is a great chance for me to work on my speed and tactics in a championship format, over two days.

"At the Olympics I'll need to recover as quickly as possible between races, so running two races back to back will be good preparation."

The final Great Britain & Northern Ireland team will be confirmed on June 25. The competition runs from June 27 to July 1.

Great Britain and Northern Ireland squad:

100m: Harry Aikines Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu, Richard Kilty, Mark Lewis-Francis
200m: James Alaka, Chris Clarke, James Ellington, Christian Malcolm, Danny Talbot
400m: Richard Buck, Luke Lennon Ford, Nigel Levine, Rob Tobin, Conrad Williams
800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer, Gareth Warburton
1500m: Andy Baddeley, James Brewer, Tom Lancashire, Ross Murray, James Shane
5000m: Mo Farah, Rory Fraser, Mitch Goose, Nick McCormick
10,000m: Keith Gerrard, James Walsh
3000m steeplechase: Luke Gunn, Rob Mullett, Stuart Stokes, James Wilkinson
110m hurdles: Richard Alleyne, Lawrence Clarke, Gianni Frankis, Andrew Pozzi, William Sharman
400m hurdles: Jack Green, Ben Sumner, Rhys Williams, Nathan Woodward, Rick Yates
High jump: Martyn Bernard, Robbie Grabarz, Samson Oni, Tom Parsons
Pole vault: Luke Cutts, Max Eaves, Andrew Sutcliffe
Long jump: JJ Jegede, Julian Reid, Chris Tomlinson
Triple jump: Larry Achike
Shot put: Carl Myerscough
Discus throw: Abdul Buhari, Brett Morse, Carl Myerscough, Lawrence Okoye
Hammer throw: Mark Dry
Decathlon: Ashley Bryant
4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Chambers, Kilty, Tyrone Edgar, Ellington, Malcolm, Talbot
4x400m: Buck, Michael Bingham, Lennon Ford, Levine, Tobin, Williams

100m: Montell Douglas, Jeanette Kwakye, Ashleigh Nelson, Anyika Onuora, Abi Oyepitan
200m: Onuora, Oyepitan, Jodie Williams
400m: Shana Cox, Lee McConnell, Kelly Massey, Marilyn Okoro, Nicola Sanders
800m: Emma Jackson, Jenny Meadows, Okoro, Lynsey Sharp, Jemma Simpson
1500m: Lisa Dobriskey, Jemma Simpson, Charlene Thomas, Steph Twell, Laura Weightman
5000m: Julia Bleasdale, Helen Clitheroe, Twell
10,000m: Jo Pavey, Charlotte Purdue, Gemma Steel, Sarah Waldron
3000m steeplechase: Hatti Archer, Eilish McColgan
100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter
400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley
High jump: Isobel Pooley
Pole vault: Kate Dennison, Sally Peake
Long jump: Abigail Irozuru, Shara Proctor
Triple jump: Yamile Aldama
Shot put: Eden Francis
Discus throw: Francis, Jade Nicholls
Hammer throw: Sophie Hitchon, Sarah Holt
Javelin throw: Goldie Sayers, Laura Whittingham
Heptathlon: Louise Hazel
4x100m: Douglas, Hayley Jones, Kwakye, Nelson, Onuora, Williams
4x400m: Eilidh Child, Cox, Massey, McConnell, Christine Ohuruogu, Sanders

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.