• US Open

Khan heads US Open qualifiers at Walton Heath

ESPN staff
May 27, 2013
Simon Khan was one of 12 players to qualify for next month's US Open © Getty Images

Simon Khan bounced back from his play-off defeat to Matteo Manassero at the BMW PGA Championship to book one of 12 spots at next month's US Open available at Walton Heath.

The Englishman, who admitted he'd had a sleepless night after losing at Wentworth, topped the 36-hole qualifying at the prestigious Surrey club on Monday with a seven-under par score of 137.

Also heading to the second major of the season, this year held at Merion Golf Club near Philadelphia, are compatriots Paul Casey, David Howell, Eddie Pepperell and John Parry, as well as Ryder Cup winning captain Jose Maria Olazabal.

Scotland's Chris Doak, Jaco Van Zyl, Morten Orum Madsen, Peter Hedblom, Marcus Fraser and Estanislao Goya make up the dozen qualifiers.

Rikardo Karlberg, who finished at three-under alongside Parry, Howell, Olazabal, Goya and Doak, missed out in the play-off.

But there was no such trouble for Khan, who admitted: "I don't know a lot about Merion but it looks fantastic from the pictures I've seen. It looks quite tricky and a bit shorter, which hopefully will suit me.

"It will be my third US Open and I love the tournament, so it will be fantastic to go back."

Meanwhile, Casey is happy to be slowly returning to form after recovering from a shoulder injury.

"It was the first qualifier I've played, so I didn't know what to expect," Casey told Sky Sports News. "We had great crowds and it was a golf course I played a lot as a kid, so I'm ecstatic to come through.

"For me, the US Open is right up there along with the Open Championship. I don't know a lot about Merion but I've played a lot of US Opens and I love them. I know it is going to be tough but I'm looking forward to it."

Pepperell will make his major debut and it concludes a fantastic few days for the 22-year-old rookie, who finished in sixth at Wentworth.

US Open qualifiers
-7 Simon Khan (ENG)
-6 Jaco Van Zyl (RSA), Paul Casey (ENG)
-5 Morten Orum Madsen (DEN)
-4 Peter Hedblom (SWE), Eddie Pepperell (ENG), Marcus Fraser (AUS)
-3 John Parry (ENG), David Howell (ENG), Jose Maria Olazabal (ESP), Estanislao Goya (ARG), Chris Doak (SCO), Rikard Karlberg (SWE)*
*Karlberg defeated in play-off

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.