• Athletics

Chambers and Ennis in Euros squad

ESPN staff
February 22, 2011
Dwain Chambers will get the chance to defend the 60m crown he won in 2009 © Getty Images

Dwain Chambers has been named in the 32-strong Great Britain and Northern Ireland squad for the European Indoor Championships in Paris.

Chambers, who along with 3000 metres runner Mo Farah is the only defending champion among the group that was announced on Tuesday, will be hoping to retain the 60 metres title he won in Turin in 2009 after winning the UK Indoor Trials in Sheffield earlier in the month.

The 32-year-old is looking forward to competing when the meeting gets underway next week.

"I have worked hard over the winter and am in better condition than last year," Chambers said. "It's always an honour to compete for my country and I will always try to perform to the best of my ability.

"There will be many good athletes competing in Paris, not least of all the other British athletes, but if I stay healthy and focused I must stand as good a chance as any other athlete."

Chambers will be joined in the 60 metres by Joel Fearon and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey - who was initially a doubt after pulling up during last weekend's grand prix in Birmingham.

Heptathlete Jessica Ennis has also been included despite her own problems with a sore ankle, and she is joined in the women's squad by 17-year-old 60 metres sprinter Jodie Williams.

"I'm really excited to be in the team, my hard work through the winter has paid off," the schoolgirl said. "Taking the step up to seniors is quite scary, it's going to be a good experience and a learning curve but I feel like I'm ready."

Head of UK Athletics Charles van Commenee believes the squad has a fine blend of established medal challengers and promising young athletes who will benefit greatly from the experience of competing.

"This is a strong team which can realistically challenge for medals and top-eight finishes, and I expect just that given the mix of experience and potential within the line-up," Van Commenee said. "I am especially happy with the fact that 10 out of the 32 athletes make their first senior appearance.

"Of course I expect the world-class guys to win medals, but I am also interested to see the debutants in action.

"I encourage them to take this opportunity to immediately make an impact at a high level; they are good enough to do so by making the tough qualification standards."

60m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, Joel Fearon
400m: Richard Buck, Nigel Levine, Richard Strachan
800m: Andrew Osagie, Joe Thomas
1,500m: Nick McCormick, Colin McCourt
3,000m: Andy Baddeley, Mo Farah
60m hurdles: Lawrence Clarke
High Jump: Robbie Grabarz, Tom Parsons
4x400m relay: Richard Buck, Nick Leavey, Luke Lennon-Ford, Nigel Levine, Richard Strachan, Conrad Williams

60m: Jodie Williams, Bernice Wilson
800m: Jenny Meadows, Marilyn Okoro
1500m: Stacey Smith, Hannah England
3000m: Helen Clitheroe
60m hurdles: Tiffany Ofili
Pole Vault: Holly Bleasdale
Pentathlon: Jessica Ennis
4x400m relay: Kelly Massey, Lee McConnell, Jenny Meadows, Marilyn Okoro, Kelly Sotherton, Laura Wake

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.