Aintree RSS

Liverpool, Great Britain

  • Circuit type Race
  • Circuit Turns 8
  • Circuit Direction Clockwise
  • Unused Since 1964
  • Established 1954
Records and Statistics
Race Date Winner
First race British Grand Prix July 16, 1955 Stirling Moss (GBR) full results
Last race British Grand Prix July 21, 1962 Jim Clark (GBR) full results
Total races 5

Top of the PageTop


Think Aintree and almost all British sports fans think first of the Grand National, that once-a-year horses-over-fences extravaganza of betting. However, in the 1950s, the Liverpool venue also hosted the British Grand Prix, alternating with Silverstone before Brands Hatch took over its slot in 1964. The grandstands were in place already, with great views over much of the circuit spread across the flat land. Stirling Moss scored his first grand prix win here for Mercedes in 1955, and shared victory with Tony Brooks here two years later, to say nothing of winning four non-championship Aintree 200 races as well.

Reproduced from The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Formula One published by Carlton Books

Top of the PageTop