Autódromo Internacional Nelson Piquet RSS

Jacarepaguá, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  • Circuit type Race
  • Circuit Length 5.031kms
  • Circuit Turns 11
  • Circuit Direction anti-clockwise
  • Established 1978
Records and Statistics
Race Date Winner
First race Brazilian Grand Prix January 29, 1978 Carlos Reutemann (ARG) full results
Last race Brazilian Grand Prix March 26, 1989 Nigel Mansell (GBR) full results
Total races 10

Top of the PageTop


Rio de Janeiro is the romantic capital of Brazil, São Paulo the industrial engine, but it's the latter that is the home of the country's motor racing scene. However, the more glamorous Rio hosted the grand prix almost continuously from 1978 to 1989. The nature of its Jacarepagua track was the reverse of the comparison between the two cities, as it was flat and boring next to Interlagos's swoops. Jacarepagua, home of five wins for Alain Prost, has since been re-developed with the addition of an oval to attract the IndyCar series.

Reproduced from The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Formula One published by Carlton Books

Top of the PageTop