Italian fans at the 1998 Italian Grand Prix © Sutton Images

The Italian Grand Prix is one of the longest running events on the current F1 calendar. The first event was held in September 1921 at Brescia and was won by Jules Goux. Work began to build a permanent circuit in the Royal Park in Monza, and just six months later the circuit was finished. Monza became the third permanent circuit in the world after Indianapolis and Brooklands; its impressive banked design offered drivers a lap of over ten kilometres.

Monza hosted the 1922 event and when the race joined the permanent F1 calendar in 1950 it has taken place at the venue ever since. The only other event to have appeared every year since 1950 is the British Grand Prix.

It was here in 2006 that Michael Schumacher, after winning the race, announced his retirement from the sport. To this day he holds the record of the most wins at this event having won five times - the only current driver who could surpass his record is former team mate Rubens Barrichello who has won the event three times - no other current driver has won it more than once.

In 2008 Sebastian Vettel became the youngest F1 winner at 21 years and 74 days old. 'La Pista Magica', or the magic track, holds a special place in the heart of fans and drivers alike.