Live
Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka Circuit, Suzuka October 7-9, 2016

Total laps 53
Lap distance 5.807 km
Track Conditions Dry

ESPNF1 home  

Weather
Partly cloudy

Free practice 1  October 7 - 10:00 local | 01:00 GMT | 02:00 BST
Free practice 2  October 7 - 14:00 local | 05:00 GMT | 06:00 BST
Free practice 3  October 8 - 12:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 04:00 BST

Qualifying  October 8 - 15:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 07:00 BST
Race  October 9 - 14:00 local | 05:00 GMT | 06:00 BST

Race
  Pos Driver Team Laps Pits
1 Rosberg GER Mercedes 53 2
2 Verstappen NED Red Bull 53 2
3 Hamilton GBR Mercedes 53 2
4 Vettel FL GER Ferrari 53 2
5 Räikkönen FIN Ferrari 53 2
6 Ricciardo AUS Red Bull 53 2
7 Perez MEX Force India 53 2
8 Hülkenberg GER Force India 53 2
9 Massa BRA Williams 53 1
10 Bottas FIN Williams 53 1
11 Grosjean FRA Haas 53 2
12 Palmer GBR Renault 52 1
13 Kvyat RUS Toro Rosso 52 2
14 Magnussen DEN Renault 52 1
15 Ericsson SWE Sauber 52 1
16 Alonso ESP McLaren 52 2
17 Sainz ESP Toro Rosso 52 2
18 Button GBR McLaren 52 2
19 Nasr BRA Sauber 52 1
20 Gutiérrez MEX Haas 52 2
21 Ocon FRA Manor 52 2
22 Wehrlein GER Manor 52 2

Refreshes every 30 seconds | Send your feedback to the commentators

Lap 53

Rosberg, meanwhile, is on his final lap.

Hamilton might well rue that move not working, he set it up perfectly in the middle of the second sector.

Rosberg wins the Japanese Grand Prix!

It's a huge step towards a maiden world championship. Verstappen holds off Hamilton for second with a wonderful drive, though that defensive move might well be a talking point after the race.

"Thanks a lot guys, amazing weekend and congrats on the win in the constructors'," a very calm Rosberg tells Mercedes.

Lap 52

Hamilton crosses the line 0.3s behind Verstappen but it isn't close enough, especially without a heavy braking zone into Turn 1. It's now or never for Hamilton.

Hamilton has a go down the inside of Verstappen, who moves late and forces the world champion to bail out down the outside.

"Max moved under braking!" Hamilton says. Not the first man to have made that complaint this season.

Lap 51

Verstappen is so, so cool under pressure. Not a single mistake from the teenager yet. Hamilton closes the gap up again, he's back inside DRS range and will have two laps to get past.

Lap 50

Verstappen holding firm at the moment, will be a super impressive drive if he can stay ahead of the world champion here.

Hamilton drops out of DRS zone. Has he settled for third there? Not good for the car to run behind another car that closely for so long.

Lap 49

Verstappen once again gets a great exit out of the final chicane and Hamilton again has to stay behind the Red Bull driver. Verstappen has him well covered down the main straight at the moment.

Hamilton needs something special to get past the Red Bull driver at the moment.

Lap 48

This is by no means a given for Hamilton. Verstappen doing very well with his traction out of the final corner, and then the stab of battery, to keep Hamilton at bay. Hamilton might fancy a move at the final chicane instead of down the start-finish straight...

Full commentary: Race Qualifying