Live
Chinese Grand Prix Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai April 15-17, 2011

Total laps 56
Lap distance 5.451 km
Track Conditions Dry / 29C

ESPNF1 home   Race home

Weather
Cloudy

Free practice 1  April 15 - 10:00 local | 02:00 GMT | 03:00 BST
Free practice 2  April 15 - 14:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 07:00 BST
Free practice 3  April 16 - 11:00 local | 03:00 GMT | 04:00 BST

Qualifying  April 16 - 14:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 07:00 BST
Race  April 17 - 15:00 local | 07:00 GMT | 08:00 BST

Race
  Pos Driver Team Laps Pits
1 Hamilton GBR McLaren 56 3
2 Vettel GER Red Bull 56 2
3 Webber FL AUS Red Bull 56 3
4 Button GBR McLaren 56 3
5 Rosberg GER Mercedes 56 3
6 Massa BRA Ferrari 56 2
7 Alonso ESP Ferrari 56 2
8 Schumacher GER Mercedes 56 3
9 Petrov RUS Renault 56 2
10 Kobayashi JPN Sauber 56 2
11 di Resta GBR Force India 56 2
12 Heidfeld GER Renault 56 2
13 Barrichello BRA Williams 56 2
14 Buemi SUI Toro Rosso 56 3
15 Sutil GER Force India 55 3
16 Kovalainen FIN Team Lotus 55
17 Perez MEX Sauber 55 4
18 Maldonado VEN Williams 55 3
19 Trulli ITA Team Lotus 55
20 d'Ambrosio BEL Virgin 54 2
21 Glock GER Virgin 54 3
22 Liuzzi ITA HRT 54 3
23 Karthikeyan IND HRT 54
Retirement
Alguersuari ESP Toro Rosso 9 1

Refreshes every 30 seconds | Send your feedback to the commentators

Lap 56

Hamilton celebrates in parc ferme with McLaren managing director Jonathan Neale. Such a great result for McLaren, winning with an agressive strategy and a great race by Hamilton. He's overcome with emotion, fighting the tears as he prepares for the podium - emotions are running high for Hamilton.

Hamilton leads on to the long straight for the last time... he makes the hairpin, perfects the final corner and crosses the line for victory.

Vettel takes second, Webber a very impressive third from 18th on the grid and Button finishes fourth.

Rosberg takes his first points of the season in fifth, ahead of Massa, Alonso and Schumacher. Petrov and Kobayashi make up the final points positions in ninth and tenth.

Lap 55

Two laps remaining and Button leads Webber by 1.2 seconds. Webber is on the soft tyres which are three laps younger than the McLarens.

Webber beats Button in to the hairpin using the wing but comes back strong in to the final corner to pressure the Red Bull in to a tighter line. Webber holds on though and now has a gap of 3.4 seconds to his team-mate.

Lap 54

Hamilton increases the gap to 2.8 seconds as Button closes the gap to Vettel to 4.0 seconds.

Webber attempts a move on Rosberg in to turn six and then makes it stick in to turn seven. It was a great pass and now he is closing at a rate of knots to Button.

Lap 53

Webber is now all over the back of Rosberg. Button is 4.6 seconds off Vettel.

Hamilton pulls a gap of 1.2 seconds at the front over Vettel, so now has to cruise to get his car home in first.

Lap 52

Hamilton has another go at the end of the last lap but Vettel parks his car on the apex to stop him. Hamilton closes again in turn six and makes the pass on the inside of the high-speed turn seven. It was a great pass as Vettel struggles for grip and power now that his KERS appears to have failed.

Lap 51

Hamilton all over the back of Vettel in the DRS zone, but the Red Bull defends its position well and gives Hamilton the option of running off the circuit or in to him in to the final corner. Hamilton wisely backs off and waits for another chance later in this race.

Rosberg storms up the inside of Massa for fourth in the final corner. The Ferrari runs wide and falls in to Webber's clutches.

Full commentary: Race Qualifying Free practice 3 Free practice 2 Free practice 1